Nil by mouth

I am sitting in my hospital bed having had a minor operation late yesterday. I was ‘nil by mouth’ for most of yesterday. Apart from a rumbling tummy, it wasn’t so bad. I knew where and when I would next have a meal.

After the procedure I wasn’t hungry even though I was remarkably awake. I came around in recovery and didn’t fall asleep again. In fact I had a long conversation about nutrition and redundancies with the anaesthetist.

I have had an ok night, and just had porridge for breakfast, so I can’t complain. I only met my consultant three weeks ago. I didn’t have to wAit for surgery. I just called the insurance company and booked in. my mum has been waiting for surgery for 7 months now give or take a couple of months. Mum has always worked hard – paid her contributions, but she waits. It is not right that she has had to wait so long. My Christmas present to my parents, if it is possible, will be private health cover. Though I am sure my father will object, on principle.

Despite this, I would not have needed a private consulation had I been living in my home town in Scotland. The family doctor there would have taken the time to listen, examine me, do tests and then offer a diagnosis rather than
giving me drugs. The drugs, according to my consultant would have simply caused other issues.

Time to change GP?

Leave a comment