Throwing my toys out

Work has been rather challenging recently.

I lie. That’s an understatement.

We have a particularly ‘challenging’ team of people who oppose all the suggestions, plans and activities that we make, and as a result we get the blame for lack of activity and success. It’s become very tiresome. One of this particular team, let’s call him mosquito #1, called into question my experience as a marketer. Mosquito #2 is very put out that we don’t consult him as he’s ‘the most senior member of my entire department’ (*we’ll come back to that one) and mosquito #3/ Mr Angry is just bitter or so it would seem.

I pride myself on being a reasonable, rational and non-emotional person when it comes to work, but this past few weeks I’ve struggled. Today, I’m throwing my toys out of the pram. I’ve had enough of the 3 mosquitoes and their scheming, back stabbing, unhelpful and tiresome comments.

We’re trying to change the way we market. Trying to use the new techniques, methods and latest technology to market something and change the perception of said ‘something’. Some people are so resistant to change. I don’t understand why.

I have no where to go with the issues. I’ve escalated to the head of said team, to the very top level in marketing, and to HR. It’s now being going on for over a year.  Where to now?

Time to approach the grand fromage himself.

Wish me luck. I’m hoping I can fit the toys back into the pram after today’s little outburst.

(* said mosquito believes he’s got more experience than my entire team…he’s old, but not old enough to be able to live up to that statement. I’ve got 29 people working for me. Something he neither acknowledges nor grasps).

