Corporate marketing trends?

I work in the corporate marketing department of a large software company. I’ve been there for over 18 months and in that time have been promoted three times. I’ve seen many changes at the company, including the loss of my boss and her replacement by an ‘interim’. I tell the people that work for me that the only constant is change.

One thing that hasn’t changed in that time is the pressure on corporate marketing to deliver ‘leads’ to the business. The number of leads my team generates is staggering. But, I have to question whether that’s lead generation should be coming from corporate in these volumes.

As a senior marketer, with experience of marketing for many other companies – big and small – I never before saw this volume of leads from a corporate team. In fact, in one company I don’t think we ever saw anything inbound from corporate.

Is this a new trend? When and how did I miss the memo about this?

I’m in the process of changing a lot of the systems and practices we have used to date. The cry from sales for ‘qualified leads’ is falling on corporate marketing and we need to have systems in place to help with the automation of lead management, lead scoring and lead nurturing.

Now, more than ever before, I find myself in need of networking with my peers.

Leave a Reply

