Contract is over

10 weeks after been made redundant my ‘life-saving’ contract for three-days marketing consultancy has come to an end. It’s been an interesting journey. My experience is 98% B2B, so working in consumer has been a fantastic opportunity, but yesterday, my last day highlighted just how large the gap in knowledge is.

Interviewing for my replacement (a full-time, consumer-focused marketer, but more junior than me) we encountered some wonderful people. It was the last interview of the day that really showed my inadequecies… The interviewee is not the right person for the job, but what that person did in one hour was prove that marketing is absolutely necessary for the company to move forward. Most of my ideas were reinforced, but then added to. The knowledge of the market, coupled with very real experience from one of the business’s target customers was invaluable.

I leave the company wishing them the very best of luck for the future. I think it’s going to be an exciting time moving forward.

Leave a Reply

