Choices

I have had a few conversations lately about choices and the routes our lives take. It started with a conversation with my sister after she ran into my “first” boyfriend recently at a party near our home in Scotland. During the conversation “he” asked what I was up to – so Sis told him a little about my life and what I’ve done (without going into too much detail). Sis could see that “he” was not so willing to talk about his life and seemed disappointed with his lot in life.

As I explained, I made my choices and my life is what it is as a result of my decisions. I can’t say it was down to anyone else and I don’t regret the choices I made. Am I 100% happy with my life, nope. Show me someone that is!!!?? We can always find something to improve or to change…all of us, right? So, if someone is unhappy with their lot in life, with their choices from being at school, to leaving for a first job, further education or even down to whether a relationship is the best thing or not – they need to make the very best of their life and the choices in front of them.

You wake up every day and you have choices. It’s up to you to choose your path. It’s up to you to change things, if you’re not happy. I was unhappy for years – I just didn’t know why. When I realised what was wrong, I started making small changes to get me away from the unhappiness. It took a long time (and a hell of a lot of changes/choices), but I did it. I only have me to blame for wasting time, but I also have me to thank for realising what I needed to do to change things.

Someone said to me recently “I haven’t done as well in life as you, because I didn’t have your advantages”. I was floored by this, I’m not from a wealthy background, nor did I have a privileged upbringing. So, what advantages did I have? I’m still trying to understand this. Everyone has the same opportunities to progress in education and into a career these days – it’s up to you what you make of them. Stop trying to blame everyone else – or look for any reason so that you’re not responsible. Change how you feel, make a move now! You can do it.

One thought on “Choices

  1. You are exactly right. I have no regrets but of course there are things I wish I had done differently or people whose advice I should have taken. But then again I’m glad I didn’t. I love what I made out of my life.

    And I had all the excuses in the world to be a hussy on a street corner or shooting up drugs every day. My mom abandoned me when I was 7 months old. My paternal grandparents raised me until I was 11 when I was removed cuz my grandma beat me with a stack. I lived with my bio dad till I was 15 when I was removed because he was molesting me and attempted to rape me. I was in and out of foster and group homes.

    When I was 18 I had nothing. I had no family, no where to live, no job, no car. But I got proactive in my life and 12 years later I may not have a lot but I’m stoked with what I have in my life.

    Great post 🙂 I hope it helps to enlighten those who may be in a funk right now.

Leave a Reply

