Valentine’s Day – Oh, The Drama…

I don’t celebrate this “holiday” as our US friends call it. It’s just an excuse for retailers to cash in, yet again. There’s so much hype and gloss around the day. My boyfriend hates it…I’m sure you’ll read many people’s blogs saying the same. The question is, why do we fall into the retail trap?

When I was a kid Valentine’s Day was about writing poems and sending them in a card that you made (not bought) to someone you liked in school. That was it. No presents, no reminders every day for a week (from Tiffany that there’s still time to shop for that all important gift!) – or – reminders from Tesco (what? why on earth?). I’ve seen it written somewhere that people need to get back to basics and spread their “love” on this day…but why only on this day? Why wait?

I don’t see my parents, grandparents or sister nearly as often as I’d like, but every time I speak to them I tell them how much I love them. If I waited to just this one day a year it would be cruel. Don’t let Valentines Day dictate to you how and when you should show love, affection or to tell people how much you love them.

There is a flip-side to this – for those people who don’t get a lot of love or respect in their relationships…if Valentine’s Day is the one day of the year that their kids, husbands or wives remember to say “I love you” – it’s a good thing. Let’s just stop bowing down to the retailers next piece of spam…

Leave a Reply

