Business Trip

I am currently on business in Boston. We did a daytime flight on Monday and we are doing a red-eye home on Friday. It is proving to be an interesting trip… We are here for sales training – a kick-off of sorts. The personalities are interesting..we had a team event yeaterday which wasn’t so much a team building event but, a testosterone fueled foray into regional competitiveness. Two women, 19 men and lots of little cars… I love driving. Those of you who know me well, will know I am not a timid driver, but last night was such a disappointment. First lap out someone deliberately bumped into me. That was it. Done. Finished. Over. I did not want to be there. I did not want to drive and I certainly did not want to compete. It was awful. The boys enjoyed competing against each other, bumping the others around the track and seeing who could go fastest. My problem is that I am just not competitive. Why is that?  While everyone concentrated on coming first in the race against the others – I wanted to improve on my time, to get the feel of the cart, to work out how to get the best out of the cart etc. But then some idiot just bumps into you because you are driving their line…yuck.  After the race I was deflated, disappointed that I had not enjoyed it and angry that I didn’t. I just sat quietly afterwards, happy to get on with other stuff, but others  interpreted my quiet demeanour as self-pity that I had not done better. Argh!  

Leave a Reply

