On Being Irrational

I know, I know… Occasionally, we women get a bad name as being irrational. It’s a sweeping generalisation to say that all women are irrational, so I won’t say it. What I will say is that a lot of women become irrational very quickly and men find it frustrating.

So why does it happen? What makes us so quick to forget due care and attention to a thorough thought process, to fly off the handle at the slightest remark or to stop reacting in a sensible manner? I don’t know the answer, but I’m sure there’s some explanation for it somewhere.

Men offer solutions to everything – they listen and before we’ve finished speaking they’ve come up with their suggestion for a solution/action* Often, this is not what’s needed and it causes us to become more irrational – as though being told what to do. Women listen. They just listen. Does this difference cause many a sane women to turn into “psycho b***** from hell”? Or is that too simple?

I pride myself on being one of the least irrational women I know. I think most people who know me well would agree. So, why then did I have one of those days yesterday which made me feel like I was being irrational? I can point to a couple of things, such as feeling bad that I didn’t go to the Lakes over the weekend – for risk of flooding and a few cutting comments from people during the day added to my irrational thoughts. (I hasten to add, there was nothing irrational about my behaviour…!)

*Sweeping generalisation but not a criticism before you think that. It’s just the way it is.

Leave a Reply

