Cheap!

Vegetables from outside the UK. Yes, they are cheap…but are they better? And, the cost in air freight (carbon!) what is that doing to us?

I’ve recently started getting my vegetables through the local organic delivery scheme again. I gave up for a while as I am never home to collect the deliveries…but I think the risk of them sitting on my doorstep is not as bad as going to the local supermarket and being faced with cheap, air freighted, veggies from far off African, Asian, or hot European climates. But, what of those countries? How do they produce such cheap fruit and veg? Slave labour? Child labour? What are we doing? What damage do we encourage by continuing to buy cheap veg? Why don’t we support local produce more?

Last week I went to my local supermarket to get a few extra veg for the weekend. My requirements were simple: Organnic veg from the UK. In the whole shop, I found three things that were UK produced and non were Organic.

 I won’t be going back there in a hurry for veg or fruit.

My box delivery yesterday consisted of lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, broad beans, plums, apples, spinach, cabbage, mushrooms and one luxury imported organic item – pineapple… Most of it UK produced (with the exception of the pineapple :-p). No screaming children, no veg/fruit from countries that are devoid of taste or texture – a much more civilised way to shop.

With all the rain we’re having at the moment local farms are suffering with problem trying to plant out the next lot of crops, but, with a (long, hot) late summer, we should all be enjoying the delights of UK grown produce well into the Winter months…

Boycott the supermarket’s tasteless rubbish…

Try either of these links for good quality Orangic produce (mainly UK grown):

http://www.abelandcole.co.uk/

http://www.riverford.co.uk/

There are more, but these are the two I shop with. Both a little different in how they operate, but very flexible. Abel & Cole allows you to select your least favourite items so that you never get them – whereas Riverford doesn’t yet offer this service. For me it’s not that big a deal…

Leave a Reply

