O2 Arena – Snow Patrol

Many of you know that I lived in Greenwich for a time. I lived there during the planning phase and the building of the dome. I am from Scotland. I believe the dome was a mistake and a huge waste of tax-payers money (yes, that does include my money too). Well, I never went to the dome. Intentionally. And, when they found an unexploded bomb on the building site, I hoped the whole lot would go up in smoke. A little extreme perhaps, but that’s how I felt.

Today, I went to the revised dome – now known as the O2 arena – and I have to say it is one of the best venues for live music that I’ve ever been to. Snow Patrol was amazing. The venue, while not completely finished / polished and in full working order is amazing. The acoustics worked. No bleed outside the auditorium. And it just works. Even the seats are comfortable. But, if you’ve never been and you’re going to see a band AND you have tickets on level four… be warned – it’s high up. It’s steep. Take binoculars! But, you’ll have a great time. (There are a good selection of bars and restaurants to choose from…so you won’t go hungry).

Three songs stand out more than others from tonight’s concert… Chasing Cars, Run and You’re All I Have. I would post the stuff I took with my phone…but someone will more than likely complain. Go see them live – I recommend it. The lead singer’s voice is pretty cool and the music, live, is something else.

Leaving the venue to go back to the tube station was a little crowded, but we did venue to Waterloo in 20 mins which is just fantastic. If you’re an 02 customer, register on their site for special offers at the arena. We’re going again, soon. And, while I have scoffed at the idea of the dome for years, I have to concede that it is now the UK’s best indoor big gig venue!

 Next gig – August 16th – Goo Goo Dolls at Hammersmith Appollo/Odeon or whatever it’s called these days. This venue is not quite in the same league as the O2 Arena…but last time I saw a band there, it was pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

