New Car

Yep, the new car is not so new now… With several trips to Birmingham (work), Brighton, and now a trip to Scotland (pleasure) – it is officially not new anymore. It’s still less than three months old, but I’ve driven the majority of its 3600 miles. It’s still lovely.

It faired pretty well on the journeys to and from Enochdhu (Tayside, Scotland).  My Dad reckons the car is impractical…he struggled to get in and out of it (it’s his knees). Mum loved it – says “it goes like a rocket”. Gran was most disappointed she couldn’t get in it. I tried breaking the Enochdhu to Pitlochry record, but failed when I got stuck on Moulin Moor – behind a tourist taking pictures of…not the beautiful scenery of Ben Y Vrackie, Schiehallion and Ben Lawyers…but sheep! Oh well, you can’t win ’em all. I did manage to break my own record from Enochdhu to home… 7 hours including two stops…

As for the car…there’s nothing quite like getting in it first thing in the morning, making a quick decision and then, either putting the roof down, or driving off with roof in place… Today is a bit of an odd day – the office is empty so I’ve chosen to work from home. At lunch time I had to buy some gift vouchers for people leaving work – so went out in the car with the roof down. The feeling of the wind in your hair, music playing from the playlist on my iPOD, and the warmth of the sunshine. It feels like a holiday.

Having returned to my desk this PM, patio doors opened, playlist playing…I can’t quite maintain that holiday-feeling. Something to do with the work on the laptop…?

Speaking of which…

Leave a Reply

